Maltodextrin is a common food ingredient. Although maltodextrin can be produced from any high starch plant, it is predominately derived from corn, followed by potato and rice in the U.S. In this blog post we'll discuss if maltodextrin is gluten-free and why it is such a common ingredient in food products.
Gluten-free label reading can be overwhelming at first, especially if you do not know what to look for. To help, we put together some basic information about reading nutrition labels and spotting gluten-containing ingredients. Follow these easy rules and soon you will be reading labels like a pro.
This article was inspired by the question, “Why is gluten-free food so expensive?” The price of eating gluten free is shocking at first, but there are many factors that go into the higher prices. Understanding them might help take some of the bite out of the expense.
It’s January. The holidays are over and every magazine you pick up has an article about goals or diets or exercise. If you’re like me, you read most of those articles and think, “Yeah, right.” We decided to share two simple ideas to add more whole grains to your diet that are so simple it feels like you didn’t change a thing. You’re probably thinking, “Yeah, right.”Everyone needs more whole grains, right? Yes, but you need them more than gluten eaters. Gluten-free flours are not fortified with B vitamins like wheat flour. Gluten-free diets tend to be low in fiber as well. Whole grains have lots of both of these nutrients plus important minerals. There are many good gluten-free grains,...
Are you wondering if you or a loved one has celiac disease? You are on the right page! Celiac disease is commonly misdiagnosed or under-diagnosed due to the variations or absence of symptoms. This article gives an overview of celiac disease, its signs and symptoms, complications, and possible treatment to help you decide your next steps.